Skilled Workers & Revolution

Posted on Updated on

Ever since reading Rebecca, I have been convinced that Daphne du Maurier is the shit. As such, I recently alighted on the idea that I should read more of her work, and resolutely trotted to the library to begin.

horse1-2400px
#librarytrot

I decided on The Glass Blowers, for no discernible reason, and read the first third of the book early on the Saturday morning of the date it was due.

cinnamon_roll_and_fork_2009-11-01
#howiroll

Then, the library wouldn’t let me renew it…

the_scream_pastel

…so I had to purchase a copy on Amazon.

glass-blowers

I suppose, since I enjoyed this novel, that this turn of events worked in my favor. Although they were still annoying.

annoying

Ugh. Okay. Over it.

not-over-it
#notoverit

“So…” you ask me, in that self-conscious tone that means the room is tense and super-awkward. “What is this book about, exactly?”awkard

Good question. The Glass Blowers is a tale within a tale. Sophie Duval is writing the tale of her family, a group of glass blowers who experience the French revolution. They experience the decadence of the French royal court, they gain and lose from the revolution, they grieve and love each other, and the story is captivating. The writing feels simple, as though you are hearing a story from a friend, your friend in her eighties who has lived through some amazing shit that is horrifying and wonderful and entertaining, by turns, and sometimes all at once.

titanic

Daphne du Maurier is a talented writer, and I highly, highly, highly recommend this novel.

young_daphne_du_maurier

Have you read The Glass Blowers? Or is there another duMaurier book that you recommend I read next? Please share your thoughts in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Skilled Workers & Revolution

    2016: My Reading List « Bambi Quim said:
    December 30, 2016 at 8:35 am

    […] Blog post […]

    Like

    […] Blog post […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

