Women Can be Beautiful and Funny

Posted on Updated on

It’s the sixties. Mini dresses and go-go boots abound. Change is in the air. And Sophie Straw is determined to be the next Lucy (as in, I Love…, TV fame). The biggest hurdles standing in her way are her looks, which gain her the title of Miss Blackpool until she turns it down, and the fact that few people consider women funny. So, you know… huge deal.

22749994

Funny Girl is the first novel I have read (or perhaps devoured would be a more fitting term…) by Nick Hornby. As such, I cannot comment on how this novel compares to well-known predecessors, such as About A Boy and High Fidelity. But I liked it. Very much.

he-likes-me

In Funny Girl, Hornby introduces the writers, cast, and crew of what goes on to become one of the most well-loved television comedies of its’ era. The novel follows them from the beginning, when the show is just an idea that they all think is very good, but which could also very easily have fallen on its’ face, to the reunion decades later. All characters were funny, most were likable, (and those that weren’t likable were still immensely fun to read about), and best of all, human. Hornby’s characters have flaws, and do the wrong thing sometimes, and it is wonderful to read about them through the entire book.

audrey_hepburn_in_funny_face_trailer
S’wonderful…

As I have mentioned previously, numerous times, I am a character reader. I don’t care if it has an interesting plot if the characters are mediocre. So the following is hypothetical, but I feel that Funny Girl is that rare treat that will appeal to both types of readers – the plot seekers and the character fanatics – and leave them both satisfied at the end. I may be wrong, but I sincerely hope not.

2c3df70bd6472c7fa789f8d37d70d1a5da359db38e7fdc7d023048384a60244f
… and not just because I like being right

Have you read Funny Girl? What were your thoughts? Love it? Hate it? Planning to read it? Please let me know in the comments below!

P.S. This book was partially read to fulfill the goal I set for myself 10 Books in 2016 Challenge.

2 thoughts on “Women Can be Beautiful and Funny

    2016: My Reading List « Bambi Quim said:
    December 30, 2016 at 8:35 am

    […] Blog post […]

    Like

    […] Blog post […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

