The Fairy Tale Princess who Pretends She Doesn’t Want to be One

Posted on Updated on

I recently read Cristanta Knight: Protagonist Bound, an ARC I received via Netgalley.

netgalley

I was super excited. It’s a fairy tale re-telling! You guys know me (or maybe you don’t, in which case HELLO, NEW READER *awkward wave*), I am a huge fan of fairy tales, and fairy tale re-tellings, when done well, are my jam.

strawberry_jam
It’s like strawberry jam that DOESN’T STAIN YOUR CLOTHES, guys. #thebestkindofjam

Unfortunately, this fairy tale re-telling is not done well.

bravepanda2-2400px.png
I know, panda. I was sad, too.

Crisante Knight is the daughter of Cinderella.

Offterdinger_Aschenbrodel_(1)
Yes – THAT Cinderella

Cinderella has apparently turned into a vain, pompous queen who pressures her daughter to be a “perfect princess,” who doesn’t use contractions, wears high heels at all times, and is destined to be the “damsel in distress” headlining her very own fairy tale.

surprising.png

Crisanta attends a special, all-girls’ school that prepares “protagonists” to embark on their own fairy tale sometime after graduation. Crisanta has nightmares, is clumsy and aspires to be much more bad-ass than she actually is. She’s full of sarcasm and pomp, which comes across about as well as my teenage sass did (so… not at all). She also repeatedly breaks the fourth wall, which is supposed to be cute, but really just makes me want to punch her in the face. And she’s a fictional character, so she doesn’t even really have a face.

boxing-glove-2400px.png
Feelin’ punchy

Some of the ideas in this novel were okay, and I liked the prominent use of fairy godmothers.

FunDraw-dot-com-Fairy-With-Wand-2400px

Overall, though, playing with fairy tale concepts, gender stereotypes, etc., in a fairy tale school setting has already been done, and done much better, via Somain Chainani’s The School for Good and Evil.

16248113

The novel is also the beginning of a series, and subsequently does not really get started until the last 50 pages or so, at which point it ends on a cliffhanger.

rockclimbing-2400px
Are you freakin’ kidding me?

While I appreciate having been given the opportunity to read this book, I did not enjoy it, and do not recommend it. Although I just checked Goodreads, and it looks like my opinion is in the minority on this one.

cristane knight.jpg

 

By Offterdinger, photo by Harke [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
One thought on “The Fairy Tale Princess who Pretends She Doesn’t Want to be One

    2016: My Reading List « Bambi Quim said:
    December 30, 2016 at 8:35 am

    […] Blog post […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

