Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I Picked Up on A Whim

Posted on Updated on

toptentuesday

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, courtesy of the imaginative The Broke and the Bookish, is:

happy

For the purposes of this post, I am going to recount the last 10 books that I picked up on a whim, rather than 10 books I picked up on a whim and really enjoyed. I am not including advanced reader copies, or books that I picked up on  a whim from an author that I know I enjoy or about whom I have heard spoken highly.

We will begin with the book I am currently reading, The Book Class, by Louis Auchincloss.

book classI picked this book up at the library. The title caught my eye, I took a brief glance at the inside front cover, and thought the novel might be a good read. So far, I am enjoying it. Narrator Christopher Gates looks at pivotal moments in the lives of the women in his mother’s book club, a group of women whom he generally admired and who had a great influence on his life. These women are rich, cultured, and intelligent. So far, I am greatly enjoying it.

Next up, is Gigi Pandian’s The Accidental Alchemist.
.

accidental alchemist

Another library read, about which I have already written a blog post. In summary, it was okay. Not my favorite mystery, but not absolutely terrible.

Another recent whimsical choice was Immaculate, by Katelyn Detweiler.

immaculate

A book that I chose on a whim, because I thought it might be an interesting read. About a modern-day immaculate conception for a regular teenage girl in high school, this book is as religion-heavy as you might expect. It is not necessarily a terrible novel, but it is not very well written, I skimmed rather than read it, and not only would I not read it again, I also would not recommend it.

Another whimsical choice this year was Echo Shea’s Light a Candle For the Beast: A Beauty and the Beast Retelling: A Dark Fairy Tales Novella.

light a candle for the beast

This novella is an inexpensive e-book available on Amazon, and I did not like itBUT I was in the minority. Browsing through Goodreads reviews will show you that the majority of readers really enjoy this dark re-telling of Beauty and the Beast.

A book I purchased on a whim for my e-reader was Rachel Higginson’s The Rush (The Siren Series Book 1).

the rush

As long-time readers of my blog are aware, I tried to get a mutual reading and group discussion going for this novel via multiple blog posts (see link 1, link 2, link 3, and link 4), which was not successful, although the multiple blog posts did make it abundantly clear that I was not a fan of this book.

Another whimsical e-book read was Confiscating Charlie: A Singular Obsession Novelette, by Lucy Leroux.

Confiscating Charlie

A short erotica story about stepsiblings that seems like it’s supposed to be about a sweet, somewhat invisible, but beautiful girl taming her wild stepbrother through the power of wild sex, this story feels like one that will appeal to those who have fetishes about nearly incestual relationships in which the woman needs to be “protected.” Those fetishes are not mine, so this story did not exactly suit me, but it’s definitely not a terrible story, and if those fetishes are yours, you should give it a read.

Then, there is Season of the Witch, by Natasha Mostert.

season of the witch

This book was entertaining and slightly preachy (in a manner that I found hilarious). This book is sort of like a terrible, completely unaware soap opera that is fun to make fun of. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Another erotica recently purchased without much insight is Selena Kitt’s This Time, Baby: A Stepbrother Romance (First Time With My Stepbrother).

this time, baby

This short story had a female protagonist who was supposed to be a “sexy tease,” but whom I found to be one of the most annoying women, ever. To each his own; just don’t “flirt” with me that way if you want to get laid.

Dani Ripper’s Promise You Won’t Tell? (A Dani Ripper Novel Book 2) is a novel that I selected to read on my iPhone.

promise you won't tell

This novel had promise, but the writing did not live up to that promise. The beginning drew me in, but the plot quickly turned into something that was predictable, and reading this novella turned into a chore. Sadly, I do not recommend. Although, this novella is the second in a series, and perhaps the first novella is much better.

We will finish with How Elizabeth Barrett Browning Saved My Life, by Mameve Medwed.

how elizbeth barrett browning saved

This novel is another one that I really enjoyed. This novel details a time in Abby Randolph’s life when she takes advantage of the opportunities that she stumbles across to slowly change her life into one in which she is empowered and fulfilled. I highly recommend this novel, particularly if you are in the midst of some hard times.

ta da
That’s 10!

Those are the 10 books I recently purchased on a whim. What about you? Please share your recent whimsical book purchases with me in the comments (and feel free to share a link to your Top 10 Tuesday post, if you have written one as well)!

Leave a Reply

