A Witchy Read

Posted on Updated on

Sometimes, a reader wants to escape into a weird, melodramatic world that vaguely resembles this one and also features 2 really hot sisters who are luring this hot guy who’s kind of a dick into their sinister, deadly games. And if that is what you are looking for, reader, Season of the Witch is right up your alley.


While my description probably makes it sound like erotica, it’s really not. What it is, surprisingly (and spoilers-ahead-ishly), is a rant against all of this newfangled technology, which is dimishing our ability to memorize to the degrees that Classical philosophers were able, and also that sometimes all it takes to change a guy is have him fall in love with a psychotic witch who will try to kill him, along with every other guy she meets.

 

#thatsallguys

This book was intriguing. I wouldn’t say it was well written, but I definitely couldn’t guess where the author was going with it. It starts off as a murder mystery, then quickly morphs into much, much more.

What really intrigued me, however, was seeing the use of memory palaces. 

You guys have read Moonwalking with Einstein, right? If not, you should check it out. I, personally, have difficulty making myself read nonfiction without falling asleep, so I listened to the audiobook, which has a not terrible reader. I highly recommend this book – it’s fascinating, and I think of it nearly every time I make a grocery list.

 

You’ll get it if/when you’ve read the book.

 

Seriously, guys, if you haven’t read this book yet, I cannot recommend it highly enough:


Having read/listened to two books that prominently feature the Classical memory palace, I couldn’t help but wonder which book was published first.

 It was Season of the Witch.

Now I can’t help but imagine Joshua Foer fangirling Mostert’s work so much, he researches and writes his own nonfiction book as a result. That is not (supposedly) what happened, but there is a part of me that is so entranced by this ridiculous vision, that I am having difficulty giving it up.

Untitled design (2)
“OMG, MOSTERT!!! Memory PALACE!!!” #fangirling

Maybe I can put it in my memory palace.

With regards to Season of the Witch, it is not a terrible read. Entertaining, intriguing fluff. Near the end, I was very invested in finding out what happened. I would recommend it if you are looking for a beach read with a supernatural twist.

Untitled design (3)
#witchybeachread
One thought on “A Witchy Read

    […] This book was entertaining and slightly preachy (in a manner that I found hilarious). This book is sort of like a terrible, completely unaware soap opera that is fun to make fun of. I thoroughly enjoyed it. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

