Pretty Ladies & the Perils of Achieving Your Dreams

Posted on Updated on

I recently received an e-galley of Stars over Sunset Boulevard through Netgalley, and I enjoyed it immensely.

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

This book has a bit of everything – Hollywood, pretty girls, raw ambition, dark secrets, friendship, love, and Gone with the Wind.

It also has a fairly eye-catching cover.
It also has a fairly eye-catching cover.

When sweet Southern belle Violet moves to Hollywood, she is desperate for change. She needs to get away from her hometown in Alabama, meet new people, seek new experiences… and she gets all of this, and more, when she meets her new roommate Audrey.

Hopefully this is a violet guys; Wikimedia Commons was not as helpful as usual.
Hopefully this is a violet guys; Wikimedia Commons was not as helpful as usual.

Or is she so sweet? As Audrey invites Violet into her exciting and glamorous life, the latter starts to want more than just a fresh start… much more.

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

There is my brief, hopefully non-spoilery summary. Now let’s move on to some analysis.

Probably, but bear with me.
Probably, but bear with me.

This novel was well written, fast-paced, and well plotted. It tends to feature the female point of view, yet is told masterfully, in a way that avoids cliche. Every time I rolled my eyes, and thought to myself I know where this is heading, or wondered Is this realistic the author surprised me, in a good way. In particular, I thought the book ended on a good note, as well as a realistic note. I highly recommend this book. I don’t know that I would give it five stars, but it definitely deserves more than four. Let’s go with 4.5.

1

You can pre-order your copy of Stars Over Sunset Boulevard today, if my review has piqued your interest. The novel is currently scheduled to be released January 5, 2016.

*Violet photo courtesy of: Frank Vincentz (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

One thought on “Pretty Ladies & the Perils of Achieving Your Dreams

    This or That: « Bambi Quim said:
    April 27, 2016 at 7:00 am

    […] Stars Over Sunset Boulevard – Much of this novel revolves around two young women living in Hollywood, friends and roommates, during the filming of Gone with the Wind. This book was so interesting. I kept expecting it to veer into the maudlin and predictable, yet it somehow nobly abstained. I highly, highly recommend this novel. It is the best kind of chick lit. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

