BBC: The Rush, Chapter 1

Posted on Updated on

Untitled design (1)

Hello, my wonderful readers! Who’s ready to share rambling thoughts and impressions of Chapter 1 of The Rush?

Currently reading-

I’m pretty sure I hate this narrator – to be honest, I can’t even be bothered to look up our narrator/protagonist’s name, & she obviously didn’t leave enough of an impression for me to just remember it.

I'm no elephant, and if I was one, I would be a very poor one...
I’m no elephant, and if I was one, I would be a very poor one…

I suppose that could be part of the point – I mean, I know she hasn’t exactly explained what she, her friends, and their moms are yet, but this novel is book 1 of The Siren Series, so I’m going to go out on a limb and guess that they’re… sirens.

It's elementary, dear... um... #notanelephant
It’s elementary, dear… um… #notanelephant

Anyway, I suppose it is entirely possible that the author is creating a character who is at least initially unlikable because of what she is, supernaturally/mythologically speaking. But I still don’t like it. I either like to like the main character or have a very well written story, and this novel, so far, is not written well enough for me to be okay with its’ having an unlikable protagonist.

scales

Also, the way that she talks! Like, don’t even get me started on how many times she used the word “even” in this first chapter, guys. Don’t even.

Like, don't EVEN... Like, gag me with a spoon
Like, don’t EVEN… Like, gag me with a spoon

Now, let’s get down to the mythological bones I have to pick so far with this story. This chick and her two friends are so beautiful and guys can’t help falling in love with them… but is it because of their voice? In the myths, it was the sirens’ singing, not their beauty, that drove men to their deaths. Also, I don’t hear about these ladies having bird legs, and the sirens were generally represented as part bird, so… you know…

If you're going to write about creepy bird ladies... #doitright
If you’re going to write about creepy bird ladies… #doitright

Those are my thoughts on the first chapter. What did you think?

3 thoughts on “BBC: The Rush, Chapter 1

    BBC: The Rush, Chapters 2 – 4 « Bambi Quim said:
    December 26, 2015 at 11:10 pm

    […] been awhile since my last scintillating, comment-less […]

    Like

    The Rush: Chapters 5 – The End « Bambi Quim said:
    January 15, 2016 at 10:55 am

    […] you might remember from my last post, or the post before that, I have not been particularly enjoying this novel. It only got worse as I kept reading, however […]

    Like

    […] get a mutual reading and group discussion going for this novel via multiple blog posts (see link 1, link 2, link 3, and link 4), which was not successful, although the multiple blog posts did make it […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

