A Blitz of Deadly Secrets

Posted on Updated on

banner

Welcome to one blog post for the book blitz of Kat Nichols’ new novel Deadly Secrets. This novel sounds like it should fill you with frisson for the Hallowe’en season, which gives you a reason to avoid committing treason by continuing readin’…my blog post.

What can I say guys? I'm in a rhyming mood.
What can I say guys? I’m in a rhyming mood.

Okay, so I’m not really going to chop off your head if you don’t continue reading this blog post…

johnny-automatic-couple-walking-away-2400px

BUT the cool thing about this book blitz is that I will give you some information, courtesy of the author herself, that might help you determine whether or not you would like to read it, and if you would like to read it, there’s a giveaway for a free e-book copy at the end of this post.

This could be you, with an e-copy of Deadly Secrets...
This could be you, with an e-copy of Deadly Secrets…

So, just what is Deadly Secrets about, anyway?

Sophia Morganthal is in over her head. Her struggles with trying to run a corporation and lead her coven cause havoc in Sophia’s personal life — mostly with her boyfriend, Connor.

Amidst the chaos, a neighboring coven is attacked, pushing Sophia to assume her place on the local council. On the brink of a supernatural war, Sophia must take action as some of the coven leaders seem to have their own agenda.

Running out of options, Sophia seeks help from the last group the council wants to involve. Will the risk be worth the reward or will she lose everything she fought so hard to attain?

unnamed

& would you like the writing style? No better way to find out than an excerpt of the book itself:

I glanced around for a doorbell, but my eye fell on a hideous door knocker instead. It looked like an

angry gargoyle and some superstitious part of me didn’t want to touch it, worried that it would come to

life and bite me. I slowly extended my hand to grasp it and the stone was cool to the touch. I laughed at

myself before knocking on the door twice. The knocker was heavy, and the thuds echoed in the silence.

Minutes passed. The tiny hairs on the back of my neck stiffened and I whirled around, positive

someone was standing behind me. But no one was. When I turned back to face the door, it was cracked

open just a tiny bit. “Hello? Is anyone there?” I asked, leaning closer, trying to peek through the open

door and into the hallway beyond.

Something slammed into me from behind, knocking me into the house. Arms wrapped around me,

like steel bands and I opened my mouth to scream. One of the arms snaked up to cover my mouth, the

fingers icy cold on my face, bruising my jaw. I struggled and kicked at my attacker, trying to free my

hand to cast a spell and he laughed. “You picked the wrong house, human.”

I tried to scream that I wasn’t human, to plead for my life, but no words made it past my lips. His

arm tightened around my chest, constricting my lungs, and my vision started to go gray. His head moved

to my neck and I squeezed my eyes shut. Was this how it was going to end?

“Michael! What the hell is wrong with you?”

The sound came from far away and as my attacker jerked, a piercing pain sliced my neck. My eyes

flew open. The smell of my blood filled the air and he growled at the woman as she approached,

defending his prize. I froze, not wanting to make any sudden moves, so scared I thought I might vomit.

She held her hands up as she walked closer, but her fangs were out, the smell of my blood making her

hungry too. “Damn it, Michael. She’s not human. She’s a witch.”

halloween-005-2400px

If you are still interested in learning more, you can check out the book’s Goodreads page, the author’s website, Facebook page, or Twitter feed.

If you want to enter the giveaway for a free e-book copy of this novel, leave a comment discussing your favorite Halloween book or movie. (Giveaway will be accomplished via random drawing next week.) If you need to get a copy of the book in your hands now, you may purchase it at Barnes&Noble or Amazon.

I’m looking forward to reading your comments!

banner

Leave a Reply

