Hole-y Cow

Posted on Updated on

A teenage boy is angry, sarcastic & misunderstood. Normal stuff, right? Well… not exactly. You see, Cameron Smith has Mad Cow Disease.

going bovine

As you can guess, having a terminal disease that is basically eating away your brain is kind of difficult for a teenage boy to process. Thus begins a cross-country adventure with lawn gnomes, hypochondriacs, sex, beer, and physics. So much physics.

I liked it. Quite a bit. But I don’t think I would say I loved it.

Some people take issue with the beginning, because Cameron is sarcastic and apathetic and nervous, but I really liked the way the novel started. It pulled me in, and I was emotionally attached to the storyline.

While I remained emotionally attached throughout the novel, there is one overarching theme throughout that is really driven home and kind of irked me: Don Quixote.

Like, I get that Libba Bray is writing a book that could be described as a homage to Don Quixote… but did she really have to drive the point home quite so much? The classic novel and its’ themes are almost shouted at the reader throughout the book, because AREN’T WE CLEVER, GUYS?! READING IS FUN AND CLASSICS ARE GREAT AND I’M REFERENCING ONE OF THE GREATEST BOOKS EVER WRITTEN.

Aside from that one fairly minor point, the novel is fun and clever and full of crazy shenanigans. If you have not read it yet, I highly recommend it.

4 thoughts on “Hole-y Cow

    Elisabeth Kauffman said:
    September 23, 2015 at 2:31 am

    I really enjoyed this novel. Bray’s characterizations were heartfelt.

    Liked by 1 person

      bambiquim responded:
      September 23, 2015 at 2:36 am

      I agree; I thought the novel overall was very enjoyable. Bray manages to pull you right into the story with her characterization. Which character was your favorite?

      Like

        Elisabeth Kauffman said:
        September 23, 2015 at 2:38 am

        It’s a tie between Gonzo and Balder.

        Liked by 1 person

        bambiquim responded:
        September 23, 2015 at 2:40 am

        Great choices. Thank you so much for reading the blog and commenting!

        Like

Leave a Reply

