A Long Fu@king Time

Posted on Updated on

I recently finished Maggie Shayne’s Eternity, and despite the novel’s title, it didn’t take me that long to read.

I know, I know... I'm hilarious.
I know, I know… I’m hilarious.

But… it also wasn’t that good. It wasn’t terrible, either. It fell somewhere in that mediocre range, but ended on a positive and poorly written note.

And they lived happily ever after... or at least, got married.... but who cares?
And they lived happily ever after… or at least, got married…. but who cares?

I have read M. Shayne before – specifically, I read Twilight Hunger, which I guess is part of a series, though I had no idea when I read it.

twilight hunger

I remember enjoying Twilight Hunger more, although it is not necessarily any better written. One thing Twilight Hunger did better than Eternity? Sex scenes.

You may need a fan to keep cool as you read this one, guys & gals...
You may need a fan to keep cool as you read this one, guys & gals…

Shayne does a decent job of pulling the reader in to her story. The beginnings are great. The middle and the end? More lackluster. I did not have a favorable impression of the end of this book, I saw most of the twists coming, and the main characters came off a bit preachy and were not a bit of fun. (Although I may have a thing for my literary bad boys, so, you know…)

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

Overall, I would recommend this book if you have a propensity for predictable romance novels. It begins on a strong note, the ideas contained within are fairly interesting, and the sex scenes are not very good. But some people enjoy books that fit that description, so it might be right up your alley.

4 thoughts on “A Long Fu@king Time

    Because everyone else is doing it… « Bambi Quim said:
    September 4, 2015 at 6:30 pm

    […] readers might be a stretch, but I appreciate you guys!) might remember when I reviewed the first book in this series. I was not a fan. Particularly of the ending. If an ending […]

    Like

    An Eternity of Romance « Bambi Quim said:
    January 12, 2016 at 2:51 pm

    […] that book I read awhile back, that I initially liked, before becoming bored and disinterested? No? […]

    Like

    This or That: « Bambi Quim said:
    April 27, 2016 at 7:00 am

    […] Eternity – Unlike the previous novel I just discussed, this book is some of the worst kind of chick lit. It started out in a fairly interesting vein, but petered out, and in the end, I’m not really sure why I even finished. I did finish, so it’s not unreadable? I wouldn’t recommend this novel unless you are an avid fan of predictable romances. […]

    Like

    […] done. And while a story that starts off well and ends on a bland or distasteful note is severely disappointing, a story that has a bit of a rocky start and ends on a great note can be worth a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

