Book Review: This Time, Baby

Posted on Updated on

Today, I will be reviewing Selena Kitt’s erotica short story This Time, Baby. I feel like the models on the cover are older than the characters they’re supposed to be portraying, but they’re also really attractive, so I’m willing to just enjoy it.

this time, baby

Step-siblings Jared and Audrey are incredibly attracted to each other. Jared is a ripped nerd with a penchant for his blonde, bubbly step-sister. Audrey notices Jared’s hot bod, but has so much fun teasing him, that she won’t let him have sex missionary style. But how long is Jared going to allow her to tease him without insisting on satiation?

Selena Kitt is a good writer, but this particular story didn’t work for me. I think because Audrey didn’t work for me. The sex scenes would have been hot, if I hadn’t been so turned off by Audrey’s “flirting,” which consisted of corny jokes and excessive use of the word “bruh.”

image

An interesting thing about this story, as well as some other erotica I’ve read, is its’ emphasis on the vagina. I find it interesting that the characters in some stories almost treat the vagina like the Holy Grail. In this story, for example, oral sex and anal sex occurred, but despite the fact that Jared was able to achieve orgasm, he is continually frustrated that he has not yet had access to his step sister’s kitty. I feel like this veneration of the vulva is correlated to the fixation with pregnancy.

In a lot of older/more experienced men with younger/less experienced women stories, there is the concept of ownership I discussed in my last post, which often extends into the realm of childbirth. “You are going to have my baby” type of conversations, etc. Sometimes, however, the conversation goes the other way. “Don’t worry about a condom. I want to have your baby.” Is the possibility of pregnancy making the activity more dangerous? Or is it an allusion to intimacy so strong that the addition of a child is not terrifying? Or, perhaps, a glaring signal that the girl in this interaction does not entirely understand what she’s getting into?

Grumpy-Kitty

I can’t recommend This Time, Baby, simply because the characters didn’t work for me. If you’re a story-driven reader rather than a character-driven reader, however, and the ideas of teasing, games, and semi-incestuous relationships turns you on, definitely give it a try.

Also, let me know your opinion of the vagina in the comments below. Is it really the Holy Grail of sex? Or is this a literary/erotica thing?

One thought on “Book Review: This Time, Baby

    […] short story had a female protagonist who was supposed to be a “sexy tease,” but whom I found to be one of the most annoying women, ever. To each his own; just don’t “flirt” […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

