Book Review: Exquisite Corpse

Posted on Updated on

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of the graphic novel Exquisite Corpse by Penelope Bagieu. My very first graphic novel, which I requested because I really liked the cover:

exquisite corpse

The illustrations are generally very good, the characters are defined. The problem? I just don’t care about the characters. The story line is kind of fun. A bit predictable if you are well read, but I felt like this story should have been a more enjoyable read than it was. And I think the reason that it wasn’t is because I was not drawn to the characters.

This lack of connection could have been because it was a graphic novel. Since I am not generally a graphic novel reader, I am used to gaining information via narrative words. While the illustrations provided emotions and context, it is possible that because this manner of conveying information is different from the manner in which I am used to receiving information, I did not enjoy the experience as much. In general, however, this graphic novel felt very simple.

Simple does not have to be bad, but I was hoping for more.

Verdict: Makes a cute book for the coffee table, but if you’re not seeking decorative books, I recommend steering clear of this one.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Exquisite Corpse

    Book Beat said:
    June 1, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    I had the same feeling when I first started reading graphic novels. I hope it doesn’t discourage you from reading more of them though! There are some great ones out there

    Liked by 1 person

      bambiquim responded:
      June 1, 2015 at 4:29 pm

      Thank you for the comment! It’s encouraging to hear that you initially had a similar experience, but still highly recommend reading graphic novels. I was wondering if graphic novels just aren’t for me, in general, or if it is potentially this particular book, or somewhere in the middle. Do you have any particular graphic novels you recommend?

      Like

Leave a Reply

